Proof, as if it were needed, that the greatness of Super Furry Animals isn’t just down to Gruff Rhys, that band’s bassist, Guto Pryce, has teamed up with Lindsey Leven to form Gulp. With Gid Goundrey on guitar and Gwion Llewelyn on drums, on Seasoned Sun the result is a kind of Super Furries electric magic with the rainy day filter hurled over the fence like an unwanted frisbee. A steady summer beat is laid down, then fuzzed over by sci-fi synths; the combination is a glorious retro-futuristic celebration.

Gulp are touring the UK in September and October, as well as supporting the excellent Phantom Band on some dates:

The album Season Sun is out on now on Sonic Cathedral: