Pinocchio starts off and you’re thinking, OK, nice sort of electropop thing, and you’re happy with that, I mean it’s pretty cool and there’s an energy to it, driven by constant bass and occasional guitar, and all of a sudden wait, what the actual WTF just happened? And that’ll be the part where the chorus kicks in and you are not in electropop Kansas any more, which is fine actually because you’re much better off out here, wherever here is, but at least the folks have got a little attitude about them and have learned how to attach a killer chorus to a song.

love is louder than an atom bomb

louder than everyone

and it shouldn’t be hard to find


Lois & The Love have an album, Love is Louder, due out this summer on Yebo Music. The LP was recorded in El Mirador, Granada and mixed and mastered in London. Killing Joke’s Youth led production; Lois & The Love’s guitarist Dean Sharp explains how that worked out:

Working with Youth was a tripped-out, psycho-sensual and spiritual experience to say the least. The biggest influences behind the record are early ’90s grunge, The Strokes, Blondie, Siouxsie Sioux and the Banshees – as well as a lot of different post-punk and disco records, garage rock – but Youth also got us listening to some krautrock, which was the inspiration [for] Carpet Burns.

Love is Louder tracklisting

  1. Denial
  2. I Don’t Wanna Go Back There
  3. Pleasure Dome
  4. Pinocchio
  5. Silently
  6. These Guitars
  7. Techno Feet
  8. Karma Cozy Jimi
  9. Take Me To The Party
  10. Carpet Burns
  11. Hold On
  12. Child of God